Event Details

Do you know of an upcoming Symposium, CE Event, or Meeting? Let us know and we'll help spread the word!

Caries and Nutrition: Chairside Conversations

Nov 17, 2022

Virtual

Details

Presenter: Dr. Joy Void-Holmes, RDH, BSDH, DHSc
Credits: 1 CEU
Webinar Begins: 11/17/22 7:00 PM ET
6:00 PM CT
4:00 PM PT
0:00 AM UTC

Dental caries is a multifactorial disease that effects all age groups. There is a significant relationship that exists between caries and diet and nutrition, which is often complicated with many interrelating factors. Dietary patterns and behaviors play an integral role in the prevention and development of dental caries. Oral health care providers have a responsibility to deliver nutritional counseling with the ultimate goal of reducing caries risk factors and enhancing the protective factors. This CE webinar will examine the relationship between diet, nutrition, and the development of caries. Attendees will be positioned to successfully provide nutritional counseling to patients with the goal of promoting successful behavior change toward oral and systemic health.

Upon completion of this CE webinar, the participant will learned the following:
• Explain the multifactorial disease process of caries development
• Consider the action of fungal species on the microbial ecology and the pathogenesis of caries
• Discuss the nutritional aspects of dental decay
• Conduct a thorough nutritional assessment
• Help patients identify non-cariogenic healthy food choices
• Deliver nutritional counseling using practical, accurate, and evidence-based information to support and encourage positive diet behaviors that promote oral and systemic health

Register

Share: